Social experiment

The delete feature on WhatsApp is an interesting social experiment.

When someone sends a WhatsApp message, you are allowed to delete the message for both sender and receiver in 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds. The catch is that everyone is notified that you deleted a message – an evidence of a rethink.

The most frequent reason people give for deleting messages is typo error, the next one is that it was a message meant for another user, then finally, it was an overreaction.

In reality, for messages I get to read before they are deleted, the trend is flipped. An overreaction is usually the most recurring, and a typo is the least recurring.

One other interesting thing is that those who do not care how you feel only delete typo messages.

The reason you think a message was deleted is more a reflection of how you perceive your relationship, than anything else.

Deleted messages matter more from those you care about than from others.

Social experiment in progress.

– Osasu Oviawe

Leave a Reply